Hey, This is my first ever blog.This is all about new journeys and discoveries.

I am a crazy tennis fan.I have been following tennis since the age of 8 or 9. Though I have my own favourites I support all the players out there.

This year’s Australian Open seemed to be a tournament to remember.Although people expected a Murray-Djokovic final, I personally hoped for something better.Meanwhile, in the women’s tennis singles, Serena was hoping to end the long wait for winning the 23rd Grand Slam.I was thrilled to have Sania Mirza, Rohan Bopanna and Leander Paes representing India.

The very first upset came when Djokovic, the world number 2 faced defeat in the hands of a world number 117, Denis Istomin. Everyone then assumed this title to easily go to Andy Murray, the current world number 1.But it was not to be, as he was handed a defeat by Mischa Zverev.Then the spotlight fell on Roger Federer, who came back from an injury after 6 months.Rafael Nadal also was playing with a new found zeal. Federer, then the world number 18, after winning over Nishikori, Mischa Zverev and even his Swiss compatriot Stan Wawrinka despite him being world number 3 looked like he had earned a spot in the Finals.Nadal too had to face the likes of Alexander Zverev, a talented young player, Milos Raonic and the big hitting Grigor Dimitrov before entering a final which entered the history books.

Meanwhile, in the women’s singles, it came down to the William sisters.It was a repeat in history like 2009 Wimbledon for the Williams.Serena who got the better of her sister went on to break Steffi Graf’s record of most number of Grand Slams.Sania and Dodig, her mixed doubles partner won the runners up but what I was most excited for was the Fedal final.It carried me back to the 2008 Australian Open.I supported Roger Federer but have always admired Rafa for his amazing style of playing on clay courts.It was a nail-biting match though it seemed that Federer took the early lead.Nadal, with a fighting spirit, denied Federer of an easy win.When things were starting to looking good for Nadal as he took a 2-0 lead in the decider set Federer out of nowhere came back to lead 5-3.He eventually won the match but this match was a big boost to tennis.I believe no one can match the styles of Rafa and Roger.They both portrayed true sportsmanship and Roger even went on to say that of tennis had allowed a draw then he would have been privileged to share it with Rafa.This match was truly a match of the Titans and proved that Rafa-Roger cannot be written off so easily.

This match motivated me a lot and kept me enthralled.Even though Federer won the match, I think tennis was the biggest winner.Hope to catch more matches Of Rafa and Roger in the upcoming days.

Hope you enjoyed reading this,

Ramya

Picture courtesy:Pinterest

