Hello!!

Everyone misses school/college once they graduate.Every time I walk through the gates of the school, nostalgia hits me hard in the face. Since the academic year is coming to an end, I wrote this poem for my seniors who just finished their pre-university.

Treasured Memories

The vast sky beheld the radiant sun
As the sparrow chirped melodiously.
Nervously I quivered with excitement
College life was an unknown ocean
Oh! What I wouldn’t give to travel back in time?

Strange travellers crossed my path,
Different names filled my notebooks
Plotting schemes to bunk classes
Never failed to earn our teachers’ wrath
Oh! What I wouldn’t give to travel back in time?

The countless annoying silly fights,
The long elaborate good mornings,
Summed up to an entertaining class-
Bonus twas when we had lunch box bites
Oh! What I wouldn’t give to travel back in time?

Those long-awaited sports matches,
Cheering loudly at the top of our voices
Talents uncovered, imitations discovered
The desks signed by our scratches.
Oh! What I wouldn’t give to travel back in time?

When exams came round the corner,
Notes exchanged, sleepless nights spent
Frantically writing the lengthy answer,
Walked out of the exam hall calmer
Oh! What I wouldn’t give to travel back in time?

Then came the rainfall of fests,
Out came the vibrant coloured dress;
Phones flooded with innumerable selfies,
Just like the birds from the high nests
Oh! What I wouldn’t give to travel back in time?

Creating unforgettable treasured memories,
A sweet journey has reached its pinnacle.
Between thick books and fun classes,
Time slipped as we learnt life’s keys;
Uncovering the doors of new discoveries.

Cheers,

Ramya.R

