Hello, everyone!

Dancing is one of my passion.Dance brings peace and joy to me. I enjoy tapping my feet to Hindi songs, folk music, contemporary and even English music but I am basically a classical dancer. Bharatanatyam is the form of dance I practise. For those of you who are wondering what Bharatanatyam is, let me give a brief introduction.

Bharatanatyam is one of the popular classical dances of India. It is renowned in South India, for its grace and beauty. It gives scope for various postures and introduces the artist to a world of emotions. A few popular pieces of this dance form are Alarippu(the opening/the beginner’s piece), Varnam(a long piece with interesting combination of rhythm and emotions), Jatiswaram(a vibrant piece full of energy), Devaranama(based on devotion) and Thillana(fast piece set to vibrant music). The dancer is adorned with jewels and beautiful costumes.

 

2a274276c627e4feed91167c63e0c9c0
A  graceful posture by a Bharatanatyam dancer.

Bharatanatyam has introduced me to an entirely new life. Along with self-discipline, it has developed an inborn confidence in me. Apart from being physically fit, it builds my mental strength and willpower. I find a change from monotonous chores when I dance. Dancing builds a sense of belonging, invokes inner peace.

This is a new series I have started.Hope you enjoy this segment!

Love,

Ramya

