Hello!

This is a poem on the seven Ancient Wonders of the world. Only one among them, the pyramids of Giza remains intact. I feel miserable when I think about all those beautiful places we have not seen because of our human ignorance. Although some of them were damaged by natural calamities some have sadly been destroyed by wars and vain rulers. I wrote this poem for my elder sister who has been a constant support through all my writing journey.

The Seven Ancient Wonders

The red desert hid the sun.
The great pyramids stand royally,
Enclosing the graves of the Egyptian sons
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

The gigantic waves swallowed the shore.
The lighthouse shone the sea gracefully,
Upholding the Alexandrian door
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

The stars twinkled in the night sky.
The Artemision held its glow peacefully,
With pride, the Greek stood high
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

The red roses bloomed in the air.
The hanging gardens flourished blissfully,
Under the guarding Babylonians’ care
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

The thunder roared, lightning struck.
The statue of Zeus stood haughtily,
Leaving the Olympians awestruck
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

The golden leaves covered the earth.
The Mausoleum rustled silently,
Halicarnassus could never fill this dearth
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

The raging flames engulfed the forest.
The Colossus rises up highly,
Blessing the Titans to be the bravest
Such beauty! I would feast on joyfully!

Alas!Time has claimed them
All but one has bitten the dust
With deep sorrow I say
Such beauty is lost forever!

Ramya

 

